top of page

Multifocal IOL - Types!

2 types!

1) Refractive Type:

-They have annular zones of different refractive powers to provide focus for near and far objects.

-Dependent on the size of the pupil to utilize the required zone of lens.

-Limitations: a high incidence of dysphotopsic symptoms, high intolerance to pupil decentration and large angle kappa, and a significant loss of contrast sensitivity.

2) Diffractive Type:

-These IOLs are engineered with microscopic steps on its surface with a specific phase delay, usually half a wavelength, following the Huygens-Fresnel principle.

Light falling on such a surface is divided into two foci (41% each) for distance and near, while around 18% light is lost to higher order aberrations (HOA).

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page